The California Aqueduct is a hydraulic system consisting of canals, tunnels, and pipelines that convey water from Northern and Central California to Southern California.

The California Department of Water Resources operates and maintains the California Aqueduct.

The aqueduct is a concrete-lined channel of trapezoidal section, 40 feet wide at the base and 30 feet deep.

Channel capacity is 13,100 cubic feet per second.

The aqueduct runs south from the Sacramento River delta, through the San Joaquin Valley, and over the summit of the Tehachapi Mountains, a distance of 273 miles.

At this point it divides into east and west branches.

The Eastern branch terminates at a distance of 444 miles from the Sacramento River delta.

The California Aqueduct is the world's largest water-conveyance system, comprising 20 pumping stations and 700 miles of canals and pipelines.

The California Aqueduct provides water for 23 million Californians and 755,000 acres of irrigated farmland.

Mile 8.17

Altamont Pass Road, Alameda County

San Luis Dam and Reservoir

Merced County

Mile 125

State Route 33, Fresno County

Mile 143

State Route 145, Fresno County

Mile 174.07

State Route 41, Kings County

Narrator: Dr. Victor M. Ponce

Music: Benedetti & Svoboda

Editor: Flor Perez

Copyright 2009

Visualab Productions

All rights reserved